BY BILL FERRIS

This is a last-minute announcement, but it’s worth looking into. The Smithsonian is offering three free, live interactive webcasts Tuesday, November 16 as part of their “Live with the Land” educational event (see below for a schedule).

“Live with the Land” is the first installment of the Smithsonian’s yearlong “Shout” program, presented in conjunction with Microsoft Partners in Learning, TakingITGlobal, and LearningTimes.

The sessions and times are as follows:

Session 1: 1pm EST/6pm GMT, November 16, 2010 (one hour)
“Deer in the Forest: Can There Be Too Much of a Good Thing?” with Dr. Bill McShea, Wildlife Ecologist, Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute

Session 2: 3pm EST/8pm GMT, November 16, 2010 (one hour)
“Documenting the Reality of Our Landscapes” with Toby Jurovics, Curator of Photography, Smithsonian American Art Museum

Session 3: 9pm EST, November 16, 2010, 2am GMT, November 17, 2010 (one hour)
Smithsonian Tree Banding Project: “The World’s Students Monitor the World’s Trees” with Forest Ecologist Dr. Geoffrey “Jess” Parker, and Education Specialist Josh Falk, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center

More info

Register